Study tips

Hello everybody!

Long time no see, however, I’m back and ready to write new posts! I’ve realised that my blog starts to resemble to a foodblog (sorry not sorry). Eventhough cooking is the best form of relaxation I can possibly think of I decided that this post won’t be about food. Which leads me to the reason why I haven’t been posting for a while – I was taking my school-leaving exams and spent most of my free time studying.

I don’t want to brag in any cases but I passed the exam with straight A’s and during that time I was home trying to figure out how to put all of those information in my head I came up with a few techniques that make studying way more efficient, to name but a few:

  1. Brainstorm with your classmates
    One of the most famous philosophers of all time Socrates used to come to the town centre and talk to people while he was asking them questions as if he knew nothing and that’s how he found out what exactly he didn’t know. I am persuaded anyone can take an example from Socrates and try something similiar with your classmates. While asking them questions it will be a great form of revision for them and for you as well. Then you can change the roles!
  2. Revision, revision, revision
    And once more – revision! Revising what you’ve already learnt is the best way to actually preserve those infomation and not to forget it (nobody wants that, right?). For me, it was the most frustrating moment when I found out that I had forgotten everything I had learnt the day before. I’ve read somewhere that people forget 50-80% of the information they’ve learned after 24 hours. To avoid that take an hour or so to just simply go through the materials you studied the day before.
  3. Turn off distractions
    I’m sure I don’t have to give an explanation why you shouldn’t have your phone next to you, constantly checking if there’s a new photo on Instagram or if someone sent you a text.
  4. Start with the most difficult subject first
    Subject like that is likely to take you more time to learn and also the fact that from now on it is going to be only easier is priceless!
  5. Google is your bestfriend
    This may sound silly, however, there are thousands of sources of information on the internet and it’s only up to you whether you take an advantage of it or not. Whenever I don’t understand something or I’m not sure about something – Google is there for me to answer all of my questions. Use also youtube, many people uploaded study videos dedicated to various themes!
  6. Sleep
    Pulling an all-nighter the night before an crucial exam is really not a good idea. Our brain needs some rest too so make sure to get him 8 hours of sleep, it will make the studying easier.
  7. The pomodoro technique
    Study for 25 minutes, then a 5 minute break. After doing this 4 times take a long 30 minute break. This is guaranteed to drastically boost your productivity!

Hope this helps you to pass your exams!

Love, Jara

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

